Back

Planned Maintenance - 17 November 2014

Third Light is performing essential maintenance on Monday 17 November at 11:00 GMT.

On Monday, 17 November 2014 Third Light's IT staff will be updating network and storage equipment, including our core routers. This upgrade is an important part of our overall aim of maintaining a resilient, secure and fast network for customers on our private cloud or colocation packages.

We anticipate that for a period of 10 minutes between the hours of 11am and 1pm (UK time, GMT) there will be a network disconnection lasting approximately 60 seconds, and a period of up to 5 minutes when storage equipment is upgraded.

What will be affected?

Not all of our services will be affected by this period of planned maintenance. This is because we operate from three distinct data centres for resilience, and only one data centre is involved in this upgrade. However, we advise that all clients should treat this as an 'at risk' period.

We expect the network router upgrade to cause only a brief disconnection while traffic is transferred across to new equipment. Customers using IMS Standard may wish to avoid large file transfers during the period of planned maintenance as transfers in progress will be interrupted.

The storage equipment upgrades will be performed at approximately the same time, and will take between 3 minutes and 5 minutes. Internal systems hosted by Third Light, including access to our support service (and emails sent to [email protected]) will be queued and then delivered as usual.

Our aim is to restore full service as promptly as we can. We will use this period of planned maintenance in a coordinated way to complete other preventative maintenance tasks, avoiding future downtime. We appreciate your understanding.

International timings

  • San Francisco: 03:00 - 05:00, Monday 17 November 2014
  • New York: 06:00 - 08:00, Monday 17 November 2014
  • UK: 11:00 - 13:00, Monday 17 November 2014
  • Berlin: 12:00 - 14:00, Monday 17 November 2014
  • Doha: 14:00 - 16:00, Monday 17 November 2014
  • Perth: 19:00 - 21:00, Monday 17 November 2014
  • Sydney: 22:00, Monday 17 November 2014 to 00:00, Tuesday 18 November 2014

Reminder: These are planned maintenance windows. The work planned involves a brief interruption within the window announced.

Thank you for your support while we complete these important upgrades to your platform. If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us in the usual way at [email protected]


Newsletters