Back

Scheduled Maintenance - 28 October and 6 November 2018

Third Light's hosting services are scheduled for maintenance to perform hardware updates and renewal. We'll be needing a few hours of downtime for some of the services involved. This page describes the two dates and times when services will be affected, and how to get further news on those dates.

Third Light engineer working on servers

Sunday 28 October 2018: 6am to 8am (GMT)

Outcome: This upgrade work was completed as planned without incident

On Sunday, 28 October 2018 between 6am and 8am GMT, we will be updating core database servers with new high-performance equipment. This update affects all Chorus customers hosted on our UK platform, all Chorus trial sites and all IMS v6 Standard Edition sites. IMS Premium and IMS Enterprise customers, and customers we host on AWS, are not affected.

This update will involve a short period of downtime, during which time a maintenance message will be displayed. The actual period of interruption is expected to be relatively short, but in order to allow for testing and other commissioning effort, please consider the full 2-hour window to be "at risk".

This is a significant upgrade. After the enhanced hardware is commissioned, Chorus and IMS v6 Standard sites will be noticeably faster.

In the British Isles, the clocks change from British Summer Time (BST) to Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) on this date. For customers in the USA, this maintenance window starts at 2am EDT, or 11pm (Saturday) PDT. In Europe, this maintenance window starts at 7am CET. In Sydney, this maintenance window starts at 5pm AEDT.

Tuesday 6 November 2018: 6am to 8am (GMT)

Outcome: This upgrade work was completed as planned without incident

On Tuesday, 6 November 2018 between 6am and 8am GMT, we will be updating core storage systems with updated hardware. This update affects all IMS v6 Premium and Premium Max customers hosted on our UK platform. Chorus customers, trial sites and IMS v6 Standard and Enterprise customers, and customers we host on AWS are not affected.

This update will involve a period of downtime affecting customers who use our hosted services, during which time a maintenance message will be displayed. We will also be scheduling other preventative maintenance works to coincide with this period.

For customers in the USA, daylight savings time (DST) has ended. This maintenance windows starts at 1am EST, or 10pm (Saturday) PST. In Europe, this maintenance window starts at 7am CET. In Sydney, this maintenance window starts at 5pm AEDT.

Service update messages

During these periods of scheduled maintenance, we will post any updates and progress reports to our Twitter feed. You can view our updates at https://twitter.com/3rdlight and there is no requirement to register with Twitter to view our posts.

Thank you for your understanding while we deploy these new systems. The improvements that have been scheduled will lead to higher performance and reliability, and allow us to continue to provide the high-performance service you rely on. We appreciate your support.

The Team at Third Light