When you delete a collection, you are not deleting the original files to which the collected files refer. You are simply deleting the collection of references.
Delete a collection as you would any other item. See: Delete items from Chorus.
© Copyright Third Light Ltd. All rights reserved. ® 'Third Light' is a registered trademark.